Where Should Your Brand Be Reinforcing Itself?


Where should your brand be reinforcing itself? Everywhere!

Your email signature

Along with your name, address, and phone number, this should include the name of your business, your website address, and a link to your blog.

Your business card

Same as above only accompanied by a logo that complements your business or service.

Your resume

Update this regularly with any new achievements or skills (voluntary or paid) that strengthen your image as the “go to” person in your field. This includes awards you receive, presentations or workshops you give, and any pertinent articles you’ve written.

Your biography statement

Make sure you have one available to use for any boards you’re on, any professional groups you belong to, or when you’re asked to be a guest speaker, a panelist, or to be interviewed by the media.

Your social media profiles

Your connections, testimonials, groups you belong to, and regular updates should all reflect your skills and expertise.

Your website

Have one site with simple, informative content. Stay focused on what you do and how it can help others.

Your blog 

Posts should be businesslike and share tips and information in your field. Readers should leave your blog feeling like they learned something new and that they’d like to return again soon. If you use pictures, make sure they reinforce the content of the post or your image as a writer.

This may seem like a lot of writing and it is, but it’s a worthwhile investment of your time. Committing to a consistent brand is one of the most important business decisions you will make so be sure to take it seriously. If it seems like too much for you to do, hire a professional. I just might know a good one!

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Where Should Your Brand Be Reinforcing Itself?”

  1. Jordan Says:

    Outstanding suggestions for branding! I would also add your letterhead, brochures, invoices and envelopes are places for branding. Offering promotional products is another way to brand your business. Most businesses should hire a professional (such as you) to keep up with all this writing and revising because a recognizable online presence is an essential branding strategy today.

    Like

    • fingerlakeswriter Says:

      Hi Jordan,

      These are all great suggestions and I’ll be sure to include them in any of my future posts or presentations on branding. I must confess that sometimes I forget about traditional letters and envelopes in this day of electronic messages even though I still write them myself!

      Like

  2. A Brunette on Branding Says:

    Great post! I am currently in the process of creating my personal brand and have been searching for a list like this to make sure I am covering all areas of branding. I’ll admit, I don’t even have an email signature set up, but now I’ll be sure to add my information, including my blog address. Thanks for the post, I’ll be sure to share it!

    Like

    • fingerlakeswriter Says:

      I’m glad you liked the post! Here are a few more ideas that Jordan shared about places to brand:

      Letterheads and envelopes
      Brochures
      Invoices

      I appreciate your taking the time to comment and wish you luck in your branding endeavors!

      Like

Leave a Reply

