Gather Information Anywhere You Go


Back from Dallas and trying to catch up on all the work that accumulated while I was gone. Once that’s done, I’ll be working on turning some of the reading I did, and experiences I had, while in Texas into articles. Where did I get my inspiration from in just four short days you ask? Here are a few examples:

  • From all of my seatmates on my various flights from Elmira, New York, Detroit, Michigan, Memphis, Tennessee, and Dallas/Love Field, Texas. I had a number of very interesting and illuminating conversations about their businesses, where they like to eat and what they like to do in Texas, their families and pets, and other experiences they’ve had.

 

  • My first Parent’s Weekend at Southern Methodist University with my oldest son who just started his freshmen year there.

 

  • By reading all of the local publications that I could get my hands on, including the Dallas Morning News, QuickDFW, and the Daily Campus college newspaper. I definitely learned a lot from these. For example did you know about all of the fried foods that you can taste at the Texas State Fair? How about Fried Beer? Or Texas Fried Frito Pie? Still hungry? Try the Deep Fried S’mores Pop Tart for dessert. I swear-all of this is true!

 

  • Talking to some really friendly locals that I met in a Starbucks on Mockingbird

Since my son is now on “college-time” I had endless amounts of time to explore and record my astute observations about his new city of residence.

Any good writer will tell you that stories are everywhere if you’re receptive to finding them. So, next time you leave town, open your eyes, your ears, and your notebook or laptop. You may not use everything you discover today but there’s always tomorrow!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

